Why I Don’t Write About Writing

If you want some good advices about how to write see this post by The Jittery Goat

Daily Prompt: Island of Misfit Posts

We all have something we’d like to write about, but that doesn’t really “fit” our blog. Write it anyway.

I write a lot, but never give advice about writing. There are reasons. First, I should have some sort of academic training to boast about. Second, I should be a better writer to take on the task of directing others. Third, writing is highly subjective. Fourth, I don’t like being critical of the earnest efforts of others especially when the discipline is highly subjective.

Back when I started to take writing seriously a writer who lived in another part of the country began to give me some writing advice; try to accomplish as much as possible by dialogue, don’t change the point of view, and don’t use passive voice.

That was good advice.

He shared a couple chapters from a novel he was writing. I quickly pointed out…

View original post 789 more words

What do you think?

