Memories

What do you find more unbearable: watching a video of yourself, or listening to a recording of your voice? Why?

I’m too used to hear my voice recorded after all the interviews I have done in my life. I’ve usually recorded the interviews in order to write them afterwards and in that process I’ve had to listen to my voice taped frequently.  So I don’t have an opinion about it. My voice is as it is. No embarrassment. Why? First time I didn’t recognise my voice. It sounded like my sister’s. It was strange, but good. Later I get used and learned that we had a very similar voices. My recorded voice brings me a lot of memories of people I have known while working as a Journalist, all kind of people among them some extraordinary persons, unforgettable. I was really lucky.

With video I have almost no experience. I’ve made some incursions in TV but very brief, when I was a good looking young woman, and the experience was stressful, but good. I’m not a narcissist, so I don’t watch those videos my mom keeps carefully, but I’m sure they would remind me of my youth. I don’t think I would find them unbearable at all. Maybe a little funny after all these years. that’s all.

Since then no more videos in my life. I can’t predict how I would feel now in front of a camera. Probably very nervous and insecure. I don’t know why we don’t do home videos. We prefer pictures.

Can’t Stand Me.

 

One thought on “Memories

What do you think?

