Blue Mediterranean

by | Oct 26, 2014 | daily prompt

Imagine we lived in a world that’s all of a sudden devoid of color, but where you’re given the option to have just one object keep its original hue. Which object (and which color) would that be?

This prompt reminds me to one of my nephews who was, as a little kid, deeply intrigued by the black and white pictures of her parents and grandparents. One day he asked my sister: “when you were small, was it everything black and white?”

He had imagined a world populated by people with grey skin, clothed in black and white in a colorless surroundings only highlighted by the contrast between shadows and lights. Just like in the old movies.

He learned then that there had been always colours in real life but not the technology to capture them in photos and movies. Now he is a man working in an auction house as an expert in contemporary painting. Colours are his life.

I have problems to imagine a colourless world with only one thing keeping its hue. Kind of sad. But let’s play. The most wonderful colours are in nature so I wouldn’t choose a man-made object, but a creature or a wonder of nature.

Because I love the color blue I would choose the Mediterranean Sea where the hue is in constant change during the day with a wide range of blues, mixed with green, silver, golden, pink and red depending on the hour and the weather.

 

 

Local Color.

2 Comments

  1. Sabrina

    I would choose the color blue as well, but not for the sea, but for the sky. Who would I be without the possibility to dream my life away while looking up in the stunning sky? 🙂
    Have a nice day!

    Reply
    • Olga Brajnović

      You’re absolutely right. I thought about the sky too. 🙂

      Reply

What do you think?

Scroll Up

Discover more from Life is great

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading