Summertime

If it’s autumn or winter where you live, what are you most looking forward to doing next summer? If it’s spring or summer where you are, what has been the highlight of the season so far for you?

Summer has just began so I can’t say much about its highlights. I have no exciting plans for this season other than survive the fiesta of San Fermin and continue taking care of my mom. I have no plans to travel. I’ll stay in the city. Life will have a lot of entertainment during the week of the festival when hundreds of thousands of tourists and visitors will come to celebrate with us, and take part or watch the Running of the Bulls and all the other festive acts programmed.  After that crazy week, we will stay alone. The streets empty and silent. At least, some peace.  This year, the summer will have an intense political activity because after the fiesta of San Fermin the autonomic  Parliament has to choose the new government and there is no yet an agreement among the political parties about the program for the next four years. All indicates that the next government will be in hands of the basque nationalists. A radical change from the last legislature. Let’s see what happens. This is one of the highlights of my summer: a potted flower blooming in my patio.

_DSC1305

In the Summertime.

2 thoughts on “Summertime

  1. Hi! I enjoyed reading your account of the summer you’re having, and I love your photograph! From your remarks, I suppose you are somewhere in Spain, Navarre, perhaps? (I just looked up the Fiesta of San Fermin.)

    1. Yes. You’re right. I’m in Pamplona, the main city of the ancient kingdom of Navarre, in Spain. We enjoyed our Fiesta in July. Or should I say we survived our Fiesta once more? It was great. Sunny weather, street music, day and night, lots of people having fun and, of course, the running of the Bulls. I published some pictures of the street life in other posts. Nothing about the Bulls, I’m afraid.

What do you think?

