Magnificent Place

untitled-0179-2

I have been this last weekend in a photography course in Bilbao, Spain. I was hoping that the teacher would take us to take pictures the magnificent buildings  in the centre of the city. Above all the spectacular Guggenheim Museum by  Frank Gehry. Last Saturday it was a gorgeous day, and the city was in a feast mood around the museum. There was Lots of people, boats,  canoes and kayaks on the river and a contest of acrobatic jumps from the bridge. I was eager to go over there with my camera, but our teacher said we needed a quiet place to practice and we went to a nearby park to experiment the techniques we had learned the day before in the classroom about focusing, speed, lighting, depth of field, focal length, and so on. I thought I was going to get back home with beautiful pictures of an interesting city, and all I had were  experimental pictures of trees, columns, some portraits, A fountain taken with different shutter speed to obtain the silk effect with the water and things of the like. The course was very intense: From 9 am to 9 pm. And I had my bus tickets to go back to my city Monday 9 am. I couldn’t help myself and I went in a rush with my camera early in the morning to the Guggenheim to take at least a few pictures of the museum. The sight it’s worth it .  When I was approaching the museum walking thru a dark street, the fantastic building was shining like a gem, with its titanium panes reflecting the warm colors of the morning sun and the blue tones of the sky.

Topic Generator

3 thoughts on “Magnificent Place

  1. Sounds like an interesting course and I am sure you profited from it. I always wanted to go into details with fountain and running water photography, you can get some very nice effects if you know how. Looking forward to seeing your photographic results.

    1. right now I have so much information in my head that I’m a little confused. what is clear is that I need to go out and practice a lot if I want to keep in mind all i’ve learned these days. I would like to improve mi skills but I guess I need a lot of work

What do you think?

