A good story

by | Oct 30, 2013 | bad luck, daily prompt

Tell us about your first day at something — your first day of school, first day of work, first day living on your own, first day blogging, first day as a parent, whatever.

I was 18 and my boss decided to send me to report about a meeting at the City Hall. I’m pretty old so the democracy in Spain was pretty young. The meeting was at night. It started at eight PM. I was excited because it was my first day, it was a big assignment and I wanted to impress my boss with a good story.

Too much excitement. When I arrived at the City Hall I already had a beginning of a migraine. The meeting was highly polemic. Violent demonstration in front of the building. The police charging against the demonstrators. Inside heated discussions. People insulting the King. The Mayor suspending the session. A lot of things to report about. We all trapped in the building because of the violence outside. And my migraine going worse and worse.

Finally I decided to go out alone no matter the violence, because the meeting was over and I couldn’t resist any more the pain. It was raining. A storm. The streets empty but for groups of demonstrators screaming here and there and the police going after them. I began to walk weakly as a zombie passing by slowly while people and police where running around me. I don’t know how I arrived to the newsroom my clothes completely wet, water dripping from my hair. Only to say to my boss I had a good story but I was unable to write a word about all what happened because I was dying in pain from my migraine. I had no strength left in me. I almost fainted. A complete disaster. I certainly impressed him but not the way I wanted.

Daily Prompt: First!.
More first posts on the next page:

6 Comments

  1. tornin2

    Sounds like a rough evening. As a migraine sufferer I understand. Hope the piece turned out great.

    Reply
    • Olga Brajnović

      It was. I never wrote the story. I was unable to work. You know when you can’t even see properly? I only could tell my boss what happened. He wrote a little piece and he sent me home.

      Reply
      • tornin2

        At least he was nice about it. Some are horrible and would make you sit down to write it.

        Reply
        • Olga Brajnović

          He was a good man.

          Reply
  2. kansa muse

    Yikes! What a first day of work.

    Reply
    • Olga Brajnović

      One to remember

      Reply

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Daily Prompt: First! | The Story of a Guy - […] A good story | Life is great […]
  2. Daily Prompt: First! | My Atheist Blog - […] A good story | Life is great […]
  3. First Day of School | A mom's blog - […] A good story | Life is great […]
  4. 1st Grade Seating | Kansa Muse - […] A good story | Life is great […]
  5. Daily Prompt: First! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss - […] A good story | Life is great […]
  6. To Hear The Poem of Creation | I Didn't Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving - […] A good story | Life is great […]
  7. The first time I met you | viver para contar - […] A good story | Life is great […]
  8. My very first day | Processing the life - […] A good story | Life is great […]
  9. [Round Two O.C.T.O.B.E.R XXX] TBT pre-empt: “First!” | noah121weiss - […] A good story | Life is great […]
  10. Moving on up and moving on out | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl - […] A good story | Life is great […]
  11. Angry Birds and the Mists of Memory | Rob's Surf Report - […] A good story | Life is great […]
  12. The First Time I Participated in the WordPress Daily Prompt | Cheri Speak - […] A good story | Life is great […]

What do you think?

Scroll Up

Discover more from Life is great

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading